April 24, 2024

Eleven APC Governorship Aspirants Reject Indirect Primary In Ondo

Eleven APC Governorship Aspirants Reject Indirect Primary In Ondo

No fewer than eleven governorship aspirants of the All Progressives Congress (APC) on Friday sent a formal letter to the party’s Caretaker/Extra-Ordinary National Convention Planning Committee (CEONCPC) rejecting the direct mode of primary election on July 20.

The aspirants were reacting to a Thursday statement by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) that indirect mode of primary election has been approved for the party’s July 20 governorship primary.

It was only Governor Rotimi Akeredolu, who is seeking re-election, that did not append his signature on the formal letter submitted to the office of the National Chairman of the party in Abuja.


The letter dated 8th July, 2020, titled: “Why indirect primary cannot be an option for Ondo State Governorship Primary Election,” was submitted by Chief Olusola Oke, one of the aspirants on behalf of others at the National Chairman’s office at about 3:15pm.

Those who rejected the indirect mode are: Joseph Olusola Iji; Odimayo Okunjimi; Olayide Owolabi Adelami; Issacs Kekemeke; Olusola Oke Alex; lfeoluwa Olusola 0yedele and Olajumoke Olubusola Anifowoshe.

Others are: Awodeyi Akinsehinwa Akinola Colinus, Olubukola Adetula, Dr.Abraham Olusegun Michael and Dr. Nathaniel Adojutelegan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *